Skip to main content


FS visits biomedical firm in UK

Financial Secretary Paul Chan yesterday visited a biopharmaceutical company and the Royal College of Art, and attended a lunch hosted by the China-Britain Business Council, as part of his ongoing trip to London.   Mr Chan visited AstraZeneca and met the company’s senior management to learn about its drug research and development activities, as well as its latest expansion plans.   AstraZeneca indicated that following in-depth talks with Hong Kong’s Office for Attracting Strategic Enterprises, it plans to develop a research and development centre in Hong Kong and will engage in further discussion with relevant government departments on the matter.   The Financial Secretary then attended a roundtable luncheon held by the China-Britain Business Council, and met representatives of British enterprises that do business, or plan to do business, either in the Mainland or Hong Kong.   Mr Chan later visited the Royal College of Art, which collaborated with the Hong Kong Polytechnic Unive

SFC non-executive director named

Financial Secretary Paul Chan has appointed Chew Fook-aun as Securities & Futures Commission (SFC) Non-Executive Director for two years from January 1, 2023.   The appointment was made under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive pursuant to the Securities & Futures Ordinance.   Mr Chan said he is confident that Mr Chew will provide valuable contributions to the work of the SFC as he possesses extensive experience in the business sector and a long record of public services.   The Financial Secretary also re-appointed Agnes Chan as a non-executive director for two years from October 20.   Mr Chan said Ms Chan has offered constructive advice on the performance of functions and good corporate governance of the SFC during her tenure.   He looked forward to her continued support for the work of the SFC.   Mr Chan also thanked the outgoing SFC Non-Executive Director Edward Cheng for his active contribution to the work of the SFC over the past six years.   The commission is chaired by Tim Lui and its other serving non-executive directors include Victor Dawes, Johnson Kong, James Lin, Nicky Lo, Michael Wong and Dieter Yih.

Popular Posts